Challenge Day 30: Onion Scraps & Wrap Up

Here it is! Day 30! I had a few minor bumps and a handful of repeats, but overall, I MADE IT! Super proud of what I accomplished in the garden and around the house and even more excited to reap the benefits. For the last day of the challenge I pulled an onion scrap out of the fridge to plant.

Onion scraps - 10 days in fridge

Onion scraps – 10 days in fridge

I haven’t had the best of luck with bulb scrap starts, but I’m trying again anyway. The scraps we are using came from small organic onions and have been in the fridge for 10 days. I believe a gallon bucket might hold the contents alright. I probably should have used a larger bucket, but we have none left. It’s been a busy month! The upside here is that if this experiment fails we won’t be out anything, since we used scraps and not a purchased bulb.

Here within the  next few days I’ll have a complete list of everything we planted along with pictures and updates on growth. I’ll also make a list of recommended seeds and companies we’ve had good results with. Happy growing!

Leave a comment